Here and There (February 2)

psa-46-1-ww-stock-900x600

 

Quote of the Day from Paul Washer:

“You act like a biblical man today, and I hate to tell you this.
But you act like a biblical man today, don’t expect people to appreciate it.
Some people will hate you.
They’ll just hate you.
Even though you don’t say anything to them to rebuke them.
Again guys, just to start off, being a Christian is more than just simply listening to Christian music, or reading your Bible.
And it’s more than just getting a few doctrines right, and it’s more than witnessing.
It’s literally, every aspect of your life being submitted to Scripture, so that you do stick out like a sore thumb.”~Paul Washer

 

 It All Started With a Bikini  – An article encouraging the use of God’s Word as the filter through which we examine the motives of our heart and the way it is reflected through our actions.  “By spending time in God’s Word, I was able to notice the anger and rebellion that I had carried in my heart for so many years. I saw I was pridefully exalting myself above my friends instead of loving them like Christ does. I learned that I shouldn’t focus my thoughts on spandex or bikinis, but on my own heart being right toward God!”

 

Seven Practical Prayer Tips  – Kim Wagner with some tips that she has found helpful to her in her desire to be consistent in prayer.  You may find some of the suggestions helpful, you may not.  Keep at it until you find your own ways.   In the words of Nike: Just Do It.

 

For Years I Pleaded With God To Make Me Straight, So Why Did My Prayers Go Unanswered?  This article is a little on the long side and the topic is controversial, but if you haven’t been confronted with this issue yet, it is only a matter of time.  This author brings the focus straight to the heart of the issue, which IS the issue of our hearts.  “From what I see in the Bible, God is far more concerned with first fixing our hearts than he is with fixing other things in our lives…Homosexual desire – and all other sinful desire — exists in the hearts of people because worship of God doesn’t. In Adam, we corporately rejected the good rule of God over our lives. And in each of our hearts, we have all individually rejected the good rule of God over our lives. And what has been the result? God has given us over to ourselves. He gave us up to our sinful desire, and has allowed us to revel and further deteriorate in it.”

 

We Need To Stop Saying, “Let Me Know If You Need Anything.  – “Do you know anyone who is hurting or who is going through some  type of suffering right now?  Here are some suggestions on how to show love and be TRULY helpful to them from someone who’s been on there. 

 

Seven Principles of Sabbath Rest  – A list of suggestions to help in fighting the battle of busyness, fatigue and endurance.  I personally struggle in a lot this area and found this a practical read.

 

Our Church sang this song as a congregational recently and sadly, it was unfamiliar to most.  Take a moment and have a listen.  Think on the words.  It is beautiful and heartbreaking.  I was 13 when I first learned it and I’ve never forgotten it.

O sacred Head, now wounded,
With grief and shame weighed down,
Now scornfully surrounded
With thorns, Thine only crown
How pale thou art with anguish,
With sore abuse and scorn!
How doth Thy visage languish
Which once was bright as morn!
What Thou, my Lord, hast suffered,
T’was all for sinners’ gain;
Mine, mine was the transgression,
But Thine the deadly pain.
Lo, here I fall, my Savior!
‘Tis I deserve Thy place;
Look on me with Thy favor,
Vouchsafe to me Thy grace.
What language shall I borrow
To thank Thee, dearest friend,
For this Thy dying sorrow,
Thy pity without end?
O make me Thine forever,
And should I fainting be,
Lord, let me never, never
Outlive my love for Thee.

Leave a Reply

