Here and There (February 3)

“This love of which I speak is slow to lose patience – it looks for a way of being constructive.
Love is not possessive.
Love is not anxious to impress nor does it cherish inflated ideas of its own ideas.
Love has good manners and does not pursue selfish advantage.
Love is not touchy.
Love does not keep account of evil or gloat over the wickedness of other people. On the contrary, it is glad with all good men when truth prevails.
Love knows no limits to its endurance, no end to its trust, no fading of its hope; it can outlast anything. It is, in fact, the one thing that stands when all else has fallen.”
Elisabeth Elliot, Let Me Be a Woman

1.  http://www.todayschristianwoman.com/articles/2015/january/cancer-may-take-my-life-but-it-can-never-take-my-hope.html?start=1  Cancer May Take My Life But It Can Never Take My Hope.  An article by Kara Tippets, a young mother who is living with terminal cancer.  Her outlook is filtered through a gospel understanding and a firm theology of the sovereignty of God.  Her story is in stark contrast to Brittany Maynard’s, a young woman also suffering with cancer, who chose to end her life this past November.  The Kindle edition of Tippets’ book can be found here:  http://www.amazon.com/Hardest-Peace-Expecting-Grace-Midst-ebook/dp/B00M4S1VJU/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=

2.  http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/we-should-be-weeping We Should Be Weeping.  “But instead of killing our sin we are feeding it. Instead of loathing our sin we are loving it. Instead of destroying our sin we are desiring it. The result: We belittle the cross and deceive ourselves. Our need becomes less and the enormity of Jesus’s sacrifice fades. The quickest way to loose the wonder of the gospel is to lose sight of the depth of our sin.”

3http://yourmomhasablog.com/2015/01/19/20-things-i-want-my-daughters-to-understand-about-being-a-woman/  20 Things I Want My Daughters To Understand About Being A Woman.  There were quite a few things on this list I thought were keepers and I was inspired to start my own list.  Maybe I will share it here when I finish.

4.  http://www.joniandfriends.org/blog/cup-of-suffering/  The Cup of Suffering.  “If you’re facing a terrible trial, by all means pray that if it is God’s will, He’ll remove it. But once you’ve prayed, leave the trial with him and be willing to take up your cross and follow Jesus down the hard path. It’s the example our Lord Jesus gave to you and me.” Joni Eareckson Tada

5.  http://www.truewoman.com/?id=3091&utm_content=buffer5628b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer   – God Is At Work In The Ugly.  “Sometimes it is seems like forever to wait on spring in the dark days of winter and even harder to wait on God when we desperately want answers, our hearts are breaking, and nothing seems to be in control. It is difficult to the point of exhaustion, but it is not impossible for those who are determined to keep following and trusting God…Yet, it is in the very midst of the trial, in our weakest-of-weak, that our faithful Father asks us to surrender our will to His and believe He can still do great things for us, in us, and through us. When we finally lay down our conditions and expectations for how things should turn out and say, “God, I trust you more than I trust me; I believe you are at work even when I can’t see you,” it is then that we find incredible, amazing, hope-filled, hold-onto peace that makes no earthly, logical sense.”

6.  http://www.thebettermom.com/blog/2014/01/03/10-ways-create-a-home-warmth-grace Ten Ways To Create A Home Of Warmth and Grace.  “We as keepers of our dwellings, have the power to set our home’s thermometer in both practical and spiritual ways. When I have bad days or stress-filled moments, I realize the degrees of joy, peace, and calmness in my home are a direct measure of my own physical, spiritual and mental well being.  Over the last year, I have been making some intentional changes to help me set a different tone to our home and cultivate more warmth and grace in the atmosphere.”

7.  http://www.christianitytoday.com/amyjuliabecker/2015/february/from-sermon-to-superbowl.htmlFrom Sermon to Superbowl.  In honor of Superbowl Sunday, Amy Julia Becker wants to remind us that what the church has to offer goes beyond entertainment and inspiration.

8.  http://www.liesyoungwomenbelieve.com/honest-god/?utm_content=buffere80f0&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer  – Honest To God.  In all honesty,  have you ever felt this way?  “Lord, I don’t want to read your Word right now . . . I don’t love it . . . Scripture seems so boring.”

jmacarthur

Leave a Reply

