Here and There (February 6 )

Praying for Adult Children – “When you think about it, they spend the most of their lives not as children under our roof, but as adults on their own.  That’s a lot of time to pray for them.  It’s a good thing we have a God who is trustworthy.”

9 Tips For Singles – “Singles make up a huge part of American society. We all have been—and may again be—single. According to the 2012 census, over forty-four percent of all U.S. residents ages eighteen and older are unmarried. With that in mind, here are nine tips for single Christians from nine different authors…”

And while on the topic, here is advice for anyone fearful of singleness from CCEF.

Maybe It’s Time To Get My Nails Done  – Serving God faithfully and quietly as they see a need and meet it.

Are You Fighting the Sin of Comparison?  “To love is to stop comparing.”

The Rules  – “We decided it would be best for us to teach our daughter how to navigate this new world successfully rather than just putting up a sign that says ‘keep out’. Not that there’s anything wrong with prohibition in the right circumstances. We’ve had a ‘keep out’ sign over Facebook until now (and will leave that sign in place for our younger children). There are ‘keep out’ signs over alcohol at least until they’re 18, and the ‘keep out’ signs over smoking and recreational drugs are most likely to remain for as long as we have authority to maintain it. Part of teaching our children how to navigate this world is to know where the dangers lie.”

When Weary Wants to Run, Hope Holds  – Maybe you are like me and can identify with the urge to run away from it all at some point in your life.  Stacey Thacker points out that the hope is not in the what but in the WHO we run TO.  “I’ve learned slowly that growth doesn’t happen at Disney World; it happens in the places in our lives we would rather escape. These hard places might be wrapped in the normal mundaneness of Thursday, or the grief shattering loss of a loved one. Instead of running away, the key to walking through our weariness is learning to run to Jesus, the hope of all the world. Because even through the strong urge to run, Hope willingly holds us.”

A New Approach to Friendships  –  A good read examining the question:  Do our relationships—the friends we choose and the time we spend with them—bring glory to God?

External Change  – “Husbands and wives, your spouse is not the cause of your moral failing – your own sinful heart is. Parents, your kids are not the cause of your moral failing – your own sinful heart is. Pastors, your congregations are not the cause of your moral failing – your own sinful heart is. Christian, this fallen world and the difficulties in it are not the cause of your moral failing – your own sinful heart is.”

3 Steps Closer to Patient Parenting  – “A few days back I got a text from a dear friend of mine who has two young children. Her text simply said, “I’m sinning against my kids . . .“I texted her back with words that maybe you need to hear today too: “Yes, you’re a sinner. And us moms often sin against our kids. Has it taken you to the cross? Have you gone to that place where your sin was made no more, where grace and mercy freely flow? The cross: that place (the only place!) where we are given fresh grace and new life. So often our kids are the ones who know and see our sin up close and personal. But such hope is found at the cross. Such grace. Such joy.

Whatever it takes  (as performed by Kevin Inafuku)

Whatever it takes
To keep me tender toward You,
Whatever it takes, Lord
I beg You to do.
Whatever You must lead me through,
Whatever it takes, Lord … do.

At times I hear your voice and try to hide
But patiently you draw me to your side.
I may not always see
That Your words are life to me.
So many times I’ve missed You,
Help me, Lord, to not resist You

Sometimes my heart gets hard and I can’t see
That Your correction is protecting me
But as I look within
The darkness of my sin
Breaks my heart and leaves me tender:
Gratefully I then surrender.

Whatever it takes
To keep me tender toward You,
Whatever it takes, Lord
I beg You to do.
Whatever You must lead me through
Whatever it takes, Lord,
There’s too much at stake, Lord.
Whatever it takes, Lord … do.

By Jon Mohr

02-06-Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

