Here and There (March 9)

10998391_364846570375210_2754150747520906856_n

Christian Hoover shares on her decision to Stop Trying to be “All the Moms”  –  “Trying to be all the moms makes us feel better, until it doesn’t, and then we vow to do more and try harder.”

Ray Ortlund writes on  7 Ways We Can Guard and Repair Relationships.

Abiding in Christ Through Suffering and Loss  –  “So when I became a widow I had a few choices. I could wallow in self-pity, and believe me I struggled with this. Or I could run to the Lord. I could embrace my fears—and I struggled here as well—or I could embrace my Lord. I am happy to say that by his grace, I chose to abide, to rest in Him. I came to Him weary, brokenhearted, and heavy-laden, helpless to do life on my own. And he showered me with love and mercy and comfort and strength to do things I never ever even thought I would have to do.”

The Frangible Heart  – “Every peacemaker I know has had a broken heart. Yet, when hearts break in faith, trusting in the grace of God, we are not destroyed but rather strengthened for the mission at hand. When we trust that God’s grace is sufficient for us in our trials, and His power is made perfect in our human weakness, we can delight in the face of the conflict-related wounds we experience (2 Corinthians 12:9-10). When broken, frangible hearts respond in faith, hope, and love proclaiming the beautiful message of God’s love through Christ.”

Find Your Fulfillment in Faithfulness  – Part three of J.D. Greear’s excellent series Everyday Faith.  This one is addressed (for the most part) to young women.  “So if for a time God has assigned you to care for children and establish a home, find your fulfillment in knowing you have been a faithful servant, not in the praise of the world. If Jesus could find fulfillment in washing feet, you can find it in wiping butts for a season, too.”

Anna Marie Cox writes an interesting article on Why I’m Coming Out as a Christian  – “I’m not scared that non-believers will make me feel like an outcast. I’m scared that Christians will.”

steadfastloveofthelord

Leave a Reply

