Here & There (March 20)

10169227_10153117086244437_4043623971352678080_n

Jennifer Rothschild shares her thoughts on how to Turn Worry Into Peace.

Some great counsel from Samantha Louck for those times When Your Heart Needs a Pep Talk  – “So sometimes, our hearts need a pep talk. Mine needs one almost every day. I’m weak, sinful, and desperate for the joy of my Savior to shine into my aching heart. Because it’s Him we’re really aching for.”

A well written article over at The Gospel Coalition by Jill Barlow that examines the question, What if Singleness IS my Fairy Tale?    God knows my singleness and my barrenness, but it is as easy as breathing to think that if I am single at my age, there is little hope of being married and having children. The odds are simply not in my favor. To meet a godly, single man now seems an impossibility. What if singleness, rather than marriage, is my fairy tale? His Word tells me that I have everything I need for life and godliness through the knowledge of him who called me to his own glory and excellence. Everything.”

Moms Need Theology Too  – Think Theology is just for Pastors and Seminary Professors?  Think again…  “For many of us moms, the mere thought of studying theology seems way beyond what our daily life can handle. We might think, At this stage in my life, I can’t learn theology. My life is consumed and overwhelmed with the daily duties of motherhood…But the truth is we desperately need theology for all our daily duties of motherhood. We need theology for bedtime battles, feeding worries, the grocery store, and everything else in between.”

J. D. Greear writes on Why God Doesn’t Remove Our Sinful Cravings Immediately  – “The persistence of pain in our lives—especially the pain of battling against sin—shouldn’t make us complacent. God didn’t leave the Canaanites so that Israel would eventually get comfortable with them being around. It was just the opposite: he left the Canaanites so that Israel would learn to fight. So when you are tempted to despair because you continue to struggle, remember what God is doing through your circumstances. Look to Christ, whose resurrection guarantees victory. Look to Christ, who fought for you when you were his enemy. Look to Christ, the only Savior who can give you the strength to stand, and who will pick you up every time you fall. Look to Christ, and fight.”

In light of the current trends of “Mandom”, Paul Tripp examines what it means to be a man in Man Does Not Live By Man Skills Alone  – “As a man, I don’t just need to be rescued from the pressures, deficiencies, prejudices, and imbalances of the surrounding culture. No, I need to be rescued from my sin—from myself. It is humbling to note that the greatest danger to any man exist inside of him, not outside of him. Sin makes me willing to be less than the man God designed me to be, and for that, I need forgiveness and transforming grace. The next generation of men need may need to be challenged to be real men. But more than anything, they need to be introduced to the Savior who alone can make that possible.”

10999763_362919933901207_1193814022229967738_n

Leave a Reply

