Here & There (March 23)

Quotation-Leslie-Ludy-life-self-confidence-women-Meetville-Quotes-80706

Tim Challies encourages us to examine our motives when social media posting involves our own children and to consider What Is Your Exit Plan?  – “The thing is, sooner or later your kids will become their own people, and have their own network of friends and followers. And when this happens they will find that for the past 13 years you have been building their online profile… What kind of profile will they walk into when they are old enough to care?”

How Changing This One Bad Habit Changed Our Home For Good  – I’ve known this to be true in my own life as well…

This article by Mark Altrogge got me to thinking about the Things I Would Do Differently If I Were Raising My Children Again.

Paula Hendricks with some thoughtful points here on the recent Cinderella movie.  “So when you encounter those bullies at school or at home or at work, remember this: You may not have a fairy godmother to rescue you, but you have the living God on your side. This God is pleased—not when you suffer for doing wrong—but for doing right.”

Just for a change of pace, I share an article called The Anti-Bucket List.  “Why put pressure on ourselves to achieve a huge list of things that aren’t that meaningful? Why feel guilty if we’re not pursuing them? Why not let them go?”

Although not a huge fan of Personality-type articles, I found the ideas expressed in Why the Type-A Mom Needs A lot of Kids interesting. She writes, “I’m here to tell you that having more kids has helped soften some of my rough edges. It’s helped me stop thinking I was in control when really God is in control. It’s helped me try my best, but let it go when I mess up. It’s helped me realize that my rewards in heaven aren’t based on how clean the house is or how straight the closets are.”

J.D. Greear  with thoughts on why Our Everyday Obedience is Our Best Witness – “What gives us the power to live in a truly Christian way? Not more religious tasks. They may work for a while, but they’re exhausting if we’re using them to change ourselves. No, as Paul says, the grace of God gives us the power to walk away from sin and choose holiness. It’s not as we try harder that we become more like Christ. It’s as we learn to steep ourselves in the story of what God has done for us, looking upward to the glory of the God who saved us, backward to the price he paid for us, and forward to what he’s making us. “

A comprehensive list here of Bible Study Helps for Busy Moms that anyone will find helpful.

11008633_999497713410925_8779144137130614088_n

Leave a Reply

