Here & There (March 27 )

1797491_371735069686360_7463316958983935949_n

The Bare Essentials: What I Tell My Daughters About Modesty  – “Modesty has far more to do with our hearts, than it does with our clothing. Anyone getting all caught up in the apparel is probably missing the point.”

The Influence of Godly Mothers and Grandmothers  – “There are many things we can pass on to our children but the most important is the example of our faith in Jesus.”

When Life Doesn’t Make Sense, Follow the Flour Mounds  – “As Christians we often expect—for ourselves and for others—that God will give us all the answers eventually. Sure, we might have to wait patiently, but if we just hang in there, God will show us how it all fits together. We throw around “God works all things together for good” (Rom. 8:28), all the while implying that the fulfillment of this verse includes an explanation. But that is not the wisdom of God.”

He Knows  – “The questions remain.  The mourning.  The various hurts that come with being human.  The paralyzing fear.  The brokenness.  The exhaustion. Take heart.  God knows.  He knows how this is all going to work out.  How all of the pieces fit together.  He knows which questions we haven’t thought of asking yet, and He knows the answer to every single one.  God knows what He is doing in your life. And, He knew generations before you were born.”

Witch Doctors, Football and Understanding Africa – “You cannot understand Africa until you understand this worldview.  You cannot understand African politics, African poverty, African culture, and even the African Church until you understand animism.”

hqdefault

I will praise You Lord my God
Even in my brokenness
I will praise You Lord
I will praise You Lord my God
Even in my desperation
I will praise You Lord

And I can’t understand
All that You allow
I just can’t see the reason
But my life is in Your hands
And though I cannot see You
I choose to trust You

Even when my heart is torn I will praise (trust) You Lord
Even when I feel deserted I will praise (trust) You Lord
Even in my darkest valley I will praise (trust) You Lord
And when my world is shattered and it seems all hope is gone
Yet I will praise You Lord

I will trust You Lord my God
Even in my loneliness
I will trust You Lord
I will trust You Lord my God
Even when I cannot hear You
I will trust You Lord

And I will not forget
That You hung on a cross
Lord You bled and died for me
And if I have to suffer
I know that You’ve been there
And I know that You’re here now

Leave a Reply

